Blog Post #8

39_177_01-22vc0oc

This historical vessel was created during the Chinese Song Dynasty. The shape and form of this vase is it has a small, elevated foot.  It also has a wide body that comes to a sharp curve inward to make the neck. The neck is skinny with a flared outward lip. The vase has exaggerated proportions with an extremely wide body, leading to a skinny neck and back to a wide lip.  It also looks light due to the reverse affect of gravity.  I believe this form has a wide body to express how much is needed to keep whatever is put in the vase healthy, and the lip that flares out is used to emphasis the beauty of whatever is put in it.  This vase could have also been used just for decoration.  The craftsmanship of this vase is excellent.  It must have taken a lot of hard work to assemble this piece.   The vase is very smooth with a black glaze finish, and the other part of the vase has a clear glaze  although this form has been created before, this one in particular is unique because of the exaggeration.

 

 

4649e5d7-bb50-45ef-94ea-d230c6a8ff75 01cadc0a-db81-4805-b555-b52a8b9d2376 741d6020-d7c3-43da-9330-496db88b224d

I have learned, after my first attempt got too wide and collapsed, that building this form takes a lot of hard work and patience.  So far, building the body has been the most difficult part. I have been having to dry every two coils with a hair dryer to keep the form together and so when I add more, the clay won’t be too wet that it falls again.  In the picture above I have been doing well with following the template I have created.  I have learned that this form is not as easy as I thought it would be and by doing this project, I have been able to practice using templates and different techniques to help my form become complete like the historical one I based this off of.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *