Blog #5

When developing ideas for the “What’s inside my head” theme, I came up with many topics to express in my work.  At first, I wanted make a work on individualism, but instead I decided to make something more personal.  I wanted to make a piece that expressed perseverance.  I was going to make a knife with symbols of freedom, showing that we have to fight for our freedom. I worked through many thoughts, looking up symbols that I could engrave, and in the end, I finally came up with the perfect plan.  I wanted to explain to my audience that if you let fears get in the way of having fun or doing something that you love, then you’re not truly living. That you’d be letting silly fears overcome your true self.  That’s when I finally came up with doing a gravestone.  Engraving on the bottom, “Here lies our greatest gift, taken by our deepest fears”.  That was all that I was going to put, but then I came up with the idea of wrapping skeleton hands around it, the hands being a symbol of our fears, and it taking our life away, which is what the gravestone represents.

For the “What I’m saving up for” project, I wanted to build something that expressed me wanting to buy a boat.  Making a boat itself just seemed to direct for me, so I decided to do something more symbolic.  I made a lighthouse, directs the boats at night, to symbolize the saving up for a boat.  I started with a slab and I made a pinched bowl form.  I turned the pinched bowl upside down and sliced the top off.  Because I was making this hollow, I used the pinched bowl as a base and then coiled up from there.  To make it more like a lighthouse, I made a little balcony and the top like the lighthouse in Ponce Inlet.  I also added windows, to give the allusion of there being a staircase inside.  Also, I added a life preserver on the side, which is found in a lot of boats, to also give the idea of me saving for a boat.  I added seashells on the side to make the lighthouse look like it’s surrounded by sand and give it sort of a beach look.  I plan on painting the base a sort or yellow-grey color and the lighthouse red, with a black top. (Like the Ponce Inlet lighthouse).

89c67a53-2dae-47f0-b611-064acfd86339 2c0c519c-0336-4665-a2ff-fdd36dffcd17 820c37be-3b74-4bb3-8943-390b3f0bcda6 25c5c87f-7fca-4c5d-bcc1-f62bc6c40fbb

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *