Blog post #1

This year I learned the method of how to make a pinched bowl.  First, I got about a softball size of clay and kneaded it until all the air pockets are released and I rolled it into a ball.  After, I inserted my thumb into the center of the clay sphere and I began pushing inward while turning the bowl, pinching it on both sides, making sure I flatten the bottom as well.  With my limited time in working on this project, I had just enough time to smooth the outside of my bowl, not so much the inside.  The form of the body is round and by using my hands, I helped morphed it to a wider type of bowl.  I also used the smooth scraper tool to smooth out the lip of my bowl.  I also practiced this technique by making a separate pinched bowl that I cut in half to make sure the wall thickness is even throughout.  When cutting my bowl in half, the wall thickness was very even throughout, including the thickness of the bottom of the bowl.  When making this bowl, I primarily used my hands and the smooth scraper to make this bowl, helping to shape my bowl the way I wanted it and by removing a lot of the cracks and fingerprints.

 unnamedunnamed My Work

urlExample of pressing thumb into clay (https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CAYQjB1qFQoTCKDIgOuwmsgCFYnYHgod8XQGjw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.osartistsco-op.com%2Fhow_pinch.html&psig=AFQjCNGmIvhmA2QKwcefM9qErScrZBYqcA&ust=1443552098442241)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *